

# **SCALL Annual Business Meeting Minutes**

Tuesday, June 30, 2020

Location: Virtual Meeting via GoToWebinar.com

The regular Annual Business meeting of SCALL was held virtually on Tuesday, June 30, 2020. A quorum being present, President Erik Adams called the meeting to order at 6:05 p.m.

- 1. Approval of Minutes from 2019 Business Meeting
  - a. This agenda item was passed over.

## 2. Treasurer's Report

a. Treasurer Caitlin Hunter reported that SCALL has a bank balance of \$37,838.80, a PayPal balance of \$3,317.28, and petty cash in the amount of \$100.06 as of today.

### 3. Secretary's Report

a. This agenda item was passed over due to technical difficulties, but the written Secretary's Report from Patrick Sullivan stated that the SCALL Wilshire Mailbox account has a forwarding credit of \$40.66 and that mail forwarding is running smoothly.

### 4. President's Report

a. President Erik Adams signed (on behalf of the SCALL Board) a proposal regarding the current events involving the Black Lives Matter organization that was submitted to the AALL Board. The full text of the proposal will be made available after the AALL Board responds.

### 5. Vice President's (Institute) Report

- a. Vice President Maggie Hall reported that the 2020 SCALL Institute was successful, noting that it yielded an estimated profit of \$7,000 for scholarships.
- b. An Institute Report will be made available on the SCALL website.

#### 6. Committee Reports

a. All committee reports will be made available on the SCALL website at scallnet.org.

- 7. A moment of Silence for Joan Allen Hart was observed.
- 8. Awards Ceremony
  - a. The Awards Committee spokes woman Jennifer Berman noted the following:
    - i. The Vendor Service Award went to John Semiklose.
    - ii. James Senter received the SCALL Rohan Chapter Service Award.
    - iii. The Albert O. Brecht Lifetime Achievement Award went to Pauline Aranas.
- 9. New Business
  - a. Lifetime Memberships for Recently Retired Members were decided by online poll.
    - i. A motion to grant Barry Kelley Lifetime Membership passed.
    - ii. A motion to grant Jody Kelley Lifetime Membership passed.
    - iii. A motion to grant Kenneth Rudolph Lifetime Membership passed.
    - iv. A motion to grant Deborah Farkas Lifetime Membership passed.
    - v. A motion to grant Pauline Aranas Lifetime Membership passed.
- 10. Introduction of the New Board/Passing of the Gavel
  - a. Caitlin Hunter, the stand-in Election Secretary, gave the results of the election:
    - i. Patrick Sullivan will be the new Vice-President.
    - ii. Daisy DeAnda will be the new Secretary.
    - iii. Ryan Metheny will be the new Member-at-Large.
  - b. Erik Adams passed the gavel to new president Maggie Hall.
  - c. Patrick Sullivan moved to adjourn. There was no discussion and the motion carried.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:26 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Patrick Sullivan

SCALL Secretary, 2018-2020