

SCALL Annual Business Meeting Thursday June 24, 2021 Location: Virtual Meeting via Zoom

The regular Annual Business meeting of SCALL was held virtually on Thursday June 24, 2021. A quorum being present, President Maggie Hall called the meeting to order at 04:33 p.m.

- 1. Approval of Minutes from 2019 and 2020 Business Meeting
 - a. Maggie Hall presented the minutes of the 2019 and 2020 SCALL Annual Business Meeting.
 - b. Pauline Aranas moved to dispense with the reading of the minutes and to approve the minutes as printed. Patrick Sullivan seconded the motion. There was no discussion and the motion carried.
 - c. Michael Sataint-Onge moved to approve the minutes as amended and Tiffani Willis seconded. There was no discussion and the motion carried.
- 2. Treasurer's Report
 - a. Treasurer Caitlin Hunter reported that SCALL has a bank balance of \$45,593.55 in the SCALL bank account, \$220.83 in PayPal and balance of \$84.75 in petty cash, for a total of \$45,899.13. as of today.
 - b. Ryan Metheny moved to approve the minutes as amended and Paul Moorman seconded. There was no discussion and the motion carried.
- 3. Secretary's Report
 - a. Secretary Daisy De Anda reported that the SCALL Wilshire Mailbox account has a forwarding credit of \$151.30 and that mail forwarding is running smoothly.
 - b. Daisy De Anda also reported on the election results. The results were as follows: The uncontested election ran from May 3rd 2021 to May 27, 2021. As in previous years we used the online AALL election platform to run the election and votes were tallied. Caitlin Hunter was elected as incoming SCALL Vice President/President-Elect, Sangeeta Pal was elected as Treasurer, and Tanya Livshits was elected as Board Member.
 - c. Brendan Starkey moved to approve the motion and Patrick Sullivan seconded. There was no discussion and the motion carried.

- 4. Vice President's (Institute) Report
 - a. Vice President Patrick Sullivan reported that the 49th SCALL Institute, held virtually on February 18th, 2021was a success!
 - We had 92 registrations and 5 exhibitors.
 - The Loot boxes were very popular and the happy hour had a positive turnout.
 - All speakers were informative and well-received.
 - We made \$5,023.00, spent \$1,997.04, and earned a profit of \$3,025.96.
 - a. Daisy De Anda moved to approve the motion and Caitlin Hunter seconded. There was no discussion and the motion carried.
- 5. President's Report
 - a. President Maggie Hall reported on SCALL's highlights over the year, noting:
 - i. The Programs Committee and Public Relations Committee efforts were great;
 - ii. The Institute was fantastic with a great outreach virtually. Hybrid and virtual programming may be hosted more easily.
 - Recognized Amy Atchison's for her 16 year service in Charing the Bylaws Committee.
 - iv. We are excited for the SCALL 50th Institute and look forward to an in-person meeting in 2022!
 - b. Daisy De Anda moved to approve the motion and Caitlin Hunter seconded. There was no discussion and the motion carried.
- 6. Committee Reports
 - a. All committee reports will be made available on the SCALL website at scallnet.org.
- 7. Awards Ceremony
 - **a.** The recipients of the SCALL Awards for 2020-2021 are as follows. This year, plaques will be delivered at the next in-person meeting or be mailed to all recipients.
 - i. The Albert O. Brecht Lifetime Achievement Award was awarded to James Sente and Daniel Martin.
 - ii. The Rohan Award for exemplary service to the association and the profession was awarded to Cornell Winston and Michael Saint Onge.
 - The Vendor Service Award was awarded to Carol Sage of Courthouse News.
 - iv.
- 8. New Business
 - a. No new business to report

- 9. Member Questions and Issues
 - a. Lifetime Memberships for Recently Retired Members were nominated:
 - i. A motion to grant Dan Martin Lifetime Membership passed. Maggie Hall moved to approve the motion and Tiffani Willis seconded. There was no discussion and the motion carried.
 - ii. A motion to grant David Burch Lifetime Membership passed. Laura Cadra motion and Maggie Hall seconded. There was no discussion and the motion carried.
 - iii. A motion to grant James Senter Lifetime Membership passed. Maggie Hall moved to approve the motion and Patrick Sullivan seconded. There was no discussion and the motion carried.
 - iv. A motion to grant John Semiklose Lifetime Membership passed. Maggie Hall moved to approve the motion and Daisy De Anda second the motion.
 - b. Moment of silence to honor members of SCALL and other California chapters who have passed this year.
- 10. Announcements
 - a. Zoom Happy Hour directly following this meeting.
- 11. Introduction of the New Board/Passing of the Gavel
 - a. Maggie Hall thanked Erik Adams and Tiffani Willis for their past contributions as a SCALL officers.
 - b. President Maggie Hall introduced and welcomed the new Board for the incoming 2021-2022 year:
 - i. Sangeeta Pal will be the new Treasurer.
 - ii. Tanya Livshits will be the new Member-at-Large.
 - iii. Caitlin Hunter will be the new Vice-President.
 - iv. Patrick Sullivan will be the new President.
 - c. Maggie Hall passed the gavel to new president Patrick Sullivan.
 - d. Caitlin Hunter moved to adjourn. There was no discussion and the motion carried.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:55 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Daisy De Anda

SCALL Secretary, 2020-2021