

## 2022 – 2023 ANNUAL REPORT

The 2022-2023 SCALL Executive Board consisted of Caitlin Hunter, President; Joy Shoemaker, Vice President/President-Elect; Patrick Sullivan, Immediate Past President; Sangeeta Pal, Treasurer; Suzie Shatarevyan, Secretary; and Tanya Livshits and Sherry Leysen, Board Members.

The 51st Annual SCALL Institute, *Pipelines to Success*, took place February 24-25, 2023, at the Mission Inn, Riverside. There were 67 attendees, 10 vendor representatives, 1 VIP, and 2 guests of attendees. The Institute kicked off with *Flipping the Data API Coin: Balancing Data Vendors and Library Needs*, by Erik Adams and Courtright Insight CEO Mark Torchiana. Daisy De Anda then led attendees in a breakout session on *Making Hybrid Work: Keeping the Library Humming and the Clients Happy*. Michael Saint-Onge presented *30 Essential Connections in 30 Minutes* and Patrick Sullivan and LexisNexis' Loyd Auerbach discussed how to *Reach Out and Connect with Someone*. AALL Board Member Andre Davison presented an interactive talk on *Building the Opportunity Pipeline* and AALL Immediate Past President Diane Rodriguez provided the AALL update.

In addition to the SCALL Institute, the Programs Committee arranged networking events throughout the year. The SCALL Fall Meeting was held via Zoom at noon on Wednesday, October 27, 2022, and titled *Getting to Know SCALL* + *SANDALL*. It celebrated the recent merger of SCALL and SANDALL through a trivia contest about SCALL and SANDALL history. In the winter, SCALL had its first in person holiday party since 2019, taking place on January 21, 2023, at Jimmy's Famous American Tavern. Finally, the SCALL Spring Meeting was held via Zoom at noon on April 27, 2023, and titled *Getting to Know SCALL Committees*. SCALL committee chairs highlighted the work done by their committees and encouraged members to join them.

The Nominations Committee worked diligently to secure an outstanding slate of candidates for the 2023 Executive Board election: Tanya Livshits ran for Vice President/President-Elect, Sangeeta Pal ran for re-election as Treasurer, and Karen Skinner ran for Board Member. They were elected to office and will join President Joy Shoemaker, Secretary Suzie Shatarevyan, Board Member Sherry Leysen, and Immediate Past President Caitlin Hunter on the 2023-2024 Executive Board. Immediate Past President Patrick Sullivan completed his term and rotated off the board. We are so grateful for his hard work and dedication and for the hard work and dedication of all our committee chairs and volunteers.

During the Annual Business Meeting on June 15, 2023, the Awards Committee presented the Albert O. Brecht Lifetime Achievement Award to Michael Bernier, who recently retired as a law librarian at Bloomberg Law.

Respectfully submitted,

Caitlin Hunter SCALL President, 2022-2023 June 15, 2023